Advertisement

Facebook “Snooze” button temporarily hides people in your feed

Facebook “Snooze” button temporarily hides people in your feed
From TechCrunch - September 14, 2017

Sick of a friends non-stop vacation photos? Bored of hearing about some business Pages big launch? One of your groups wont shut up about their upcoming get-together? Now Facebook has a Snooze button that lets you temporarily unfollow friends, Pages, or Groups for 24 hours, 7 days, or 30 days.

The Snooze button could deter people from permanently unfollowing, unliking, or unfriending things on Facebook, while still giving them control over what they see. Facebook benefits from you maintaining a dense social network, whether for ad targeting, or just surfacing an important life update from a distant acquaintance. So now when youre annoyed with someone or something, you can solve the problem without severing the connection.

TechCrunch spotted Snooze this morning on Facebooks desktop site in the US, and are awaiting comment from the company about the status of the feature. Well update when we hear back.

To Snooze someone, tap the drop0down arrow in the top right of someones post. Now instead of just an unfollow option, theres Unfollow or Snooze. Tap that, and you can choose whether you want to Snooze someone for a day, a week, a month, or permanently unfollow them.

Advertisement

Continue reading at TechCrunch »